Travel Attractions

Trinity River Rafting

The Trinity River is a river in the state of Texas in the United States. It rises in extreme north Texas, just a few miles south of the Red River. Its headwaters are separated from the Red River basin by the high bluffs on the south side of the Red River. It is the longest river completely within the state of Texas.

The Trinity River was named after the Holy Trinity of the Christian faith. Despite its name it has four forks: The Clear Fork, the Elm Fork, the West Fork, and the East Fork, each of which is considered part of the Trinity. The West Fork flows eastward through the city of Fort Worth while the Clear Fork flows northeastward through Fort Worth; the two forks meet near downtown. The Elm Fork flows south from near Gainesville, Texas and east of the city of Denton. Those two rivers merge as they enter the city of Dallas and form the Trinity River proper. The East Fork begins near McKinney, Texas and joins the Trinity River just southeast of Dallas.

The Trinity then flows southeastward from Dallas across the farming regions and pine forests of eastern Texas. Roughly 65 miles north of the mouth, an earthen damn was built in 1968 to form Lake Livingston. It flows onward south, into the Trinity Bay, an arm of Galveston Bay, an inlet of the Gulf of Mexico, east of the city of Houston.

. A fourth headstream, shorter and smaller, is known as the Clear Fork. The East Fork of the Trinity River rises in central Grayson County and flows south seventy-eight miles, through central Collin, western Rockwall, eastern Dallas, and western Kaufman counties, to the southwestern part of Kaufman County, where it joins the West Fork. The Elm Fork of the Trinity rises in eastern Montague County and flows southeast eighty-five miles, through Cooke and Denton counties, to a confluence with the West Fork, which forms the Trinity River proper a mile west of downtown Dallas in central Dallas County (at 32°48' N, 96°52' W).

The West Fork of the Trinity rises in southern Archer County and flows southeast 180 miles through Jack, Wise, Tarrant, and Dallas counties and along the county line between Ellis and Kaufman counties, to its junction with the East Fork of the Trinity.

The Clear Fork of the Trinity rises in northwestern Parker County and flows first southeast and then northeast forty-five miles to join the West Fork of the Trinity at Fort Worth in central Tarrant County.

From the junction of the East and West Forks the Trinity River continues southeast, forming all or part of the county lines between Kaufman and Ellis, Ellis and Henderson, Henderson and Navarro, Freestone and Anderson, Anderson and Leon, Leon and Houston, and Houston and Madison counties. It then cuts across northern Walker County to form a portion of the county line between Walker and Trinity counties and continues as the county line between Trinity and San Jacinto and San Jacinto and Polk counties. At the northern line of Liberty County the Trinity turns almost directly south, cutting across Liberty and Chambers counties, to drain into Trinity Bay just west of Anahuac (at 29°45' N, 94°42' W).

Suggestions, corrections, omissions or additions? Contact our

Pinnacle Marketing Management Inc
P.O. Box 23129 Fairlawn Plaza PO, Ottawa, ON, Canada
K2A 4E2 ·
Toll Free: 866-999-4057

Local Search Marketing

Contact | Sitemap